Quest for Gold

Ontario Athlete Assistance Program (OAAP) – Quest for Gold

Quest for Gold CoinThe Ontario Athlete Assistance Program (OAAP) or “Quest For Gold” is a funding program of the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Sport that provides financial support to Ontario’s amateur high performance athletes in the form of “provincial carding”.

ONPARA is the Provincial Sport Organization responsible for administering the Quest For Gold program athlete carding in wheelchair athletics, wheelchair basketball, wheelchair rugby, and wheelchair tennis. You can support our athletes by buying Quest for Gold Lottery tickets at your local OLG outlets across Ontario.

‘Quest For Gold’ Nomation/Selection Process & Timeline

  • Posting of Selection Criteria – March 2020
  • Application Deadline – see Selection Criteria for each sport
  • Draft List of Nominations Posted – April 8, 2020
  • Athletes wishing to appeal must contact ONPARA by April 14, 2020
  • Appeals must be submitted by April 20, 2020
  • Final list of nominated Ontario Card athletes posted – May 22, 2020

Please click on the link below to download the appropriate sport’s selection criteria:

Wheelchair Athletics QFG 2019-20 Final Criteria
Wheelchair Basketball QFG 2019-20 Final Criteria
Wheelchair Rugby QFG 2019-20 Final Criteria
Wheelchair Tennis QFG 2019-20 Final Criteria

2019-20 Quest For Gold FINAL List of Nominees

The Ontario Para Network is pleased to announce a FINAL list of athletes and alternates who have been nominated for Ontario Cards under the 2019-2020 Quest for Gold – Ontario Athlete Assistance Program (OAAP). The athletes nominated were selected using the sport specific selection criteria developed by ONPARA and applied by the Selection Committees.

Wheelchair Athletics Wheelchair Basketball Wheelchair Rugby Wheelchair Tennis
Katty Abran Adel Akhmed Faisal Burale Candice Combdon
Isaiah Christophe Laura Calovini Kristen Cameron Shawn Courchesne
Tiffany Gaudette Himmat Dhillon Ian Crowe Anne-Marie Dolinar
Anthony McMillan Ahmed El-Shwekh Matt Debly Gary Luker
Martha Sandoval Gustafson Vanessa Giancaterini Cody Fournie Gillian Mauro
Nandini Sharma Michael Kilonzo Brianna Hennessy
Joanne Lee Rio Kanda Kovac
Rosie Long Nick Kovac
Broden Nagle Dylan Lamoureux
Jason Naval Jamie Sopha
Victoria Ross
Travis Topping
Sana Worley

An archived list of past Quest For Gold recipients (2015-2019) can be found here.