Ontario Performs Strongly at Women’s National Championship

The future looks bright for Ontario women’s wheelchair basketball

From2017 CWBL Women's National Championship April 21-23, the OWSA and the Golden Horseshoe Disabled Sports Association (GHDSA) played host to the top women’s wheelchair basketball teams in Canada at the Haber Recreation Centre in Burlington. The OWSA was proud to bring the event back to Ontario after more than 10 years!

The six-team tournament saw over 120 athletes, coaches, officials, classifiers, and volunteers, while featuring Paralympians, current and former National Team athletes, as well as some of the best up-and-coming talent in the country. The weekend-long event culminated with the Calgary Rollers lifting the championship trophy after their 65-51 defeat of their Alberta rivals, the Edmonton Inferno. Québec earned bronze after a come-from-behind win over the BC Breakers. Saskatchewan and Ontario placed 5th and 6th, respectively.

Team Ontario, led by Head Coach Paul Bowes, brought a full 12-player roster to the tournament, which included a mix of veterans and rookies. The OWSA is pleased with the team’s continued improvement and efforts towards developing the women’s game locally and nationally.

Ontario athlete Tamara Steeves was named as one of the tournament All-Stars for her performance throughout the weekend.

Final Standings

  1. Calgary Rocky Mountain Rollers
  2. Edmonton Inferno
  3. Québec
  4. BC Breakers
  5. Saskatchewan
  6. Ontario

All Stars: Tamara Steeves (ON), Rosalie Lalonde (QC), Cindy Ouellet (QC), Kady Dandeneau (BC), Erica Gavel (CAL)

Tournament MVP: Arinn Young (EDM)

For complete tournament results from the 2017 CWBL Women’s National Championship please visit Wheelchair Basketball Canada’s website.