BTG Speaker Series

ONPARA has teamed up with our counterpart organizations across Canada to produce the Bridging the Gap Speaker Series with the goal of spreading awareness of BTG programming and Para sports while sharing the stories of our incredible athlete ambassadors and coaches.

In case you missed the sessions live, the recordings are available on our YouTube Channel at the links below. Questions about the series, the Bridging the Gap program, or how to get involved here in Ontario? Check out our Bridging the Gap page for more information, or contact us today!

Katherine Hale, Bridging the Gap Coordinator
Email: btg@onpara.ca
Phone: (416) 426-7131

Stay tuned for details about the next BTG Speaker Series session, coming soon! 


BTG Speaker Series #2: Wheelchair Tennis – The First Swing!

In this session, wheelchair tennis athletes Candice Combdon (ON) and Barry Henderson (BC) joined us along with Coach and Paralympic medalist Kai Schrameyer on Friday May 28th to share their love for the sport and encourage new participants to get involved. They discuss their personal experiences with wheelchair tennis, how they first got involved, how they were supported through the transition to sport, and any advice they have for people thinking of giving the sport a try.

You can watch the full recording of the session on YouTube:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To learn more about wheelchair tennis, visit our About Wheelchair Tennis page or contact us at btg@onpara.ca!

 


BTG Speaker Series #1: Wheelchair Basketball

In this first session of the ‘Bridging the Gap’ Speaker Series, four wheelchair basketball athletes/coaches from various levels and backgrounds speak about their experience with wheelchair basketball and other Para sports, the ‘Bridging the Gap’ program, how they were supported through their transition to sport, and why sport is so important to them.

Featured Athlete Ambassadors/Coaches:
– Zoe Hahn (ON)
– Aidan Love (BC)
– Ross Norton (AB)
– Colin Higgins (NB)

You can watch the full recording of the session on YouTube:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To learn more about the sport of wheelchair basketball, visit our About Wheelchair Basketball page or contact us at btg@onpara.ca

 


BTG Contacts Across Canada

Are you interested in learning more about Bridging the Gap and other Para sport programs available outside of Ontario?

Contact your province’s Bridging the Gap coordinator today!

 

 

 

Province Organization Contact 
Alberta Wheelchair Sports Alberta Rachel Kuz – rachel@wheelchairsportsalberta.com
BC BC Wheelchair Basketball Society Nadine Barbisan – nadine@ncwbs.ca
BC BC Wheelchair Sports Association Michelle McDonnell – michelle@bcwheelchairsports.com
Ana Karanovic – ana@bcwheelchairsports.com
Ontario Ontario Para Network Katherine Hale – btg@onpara.ca
PEI Parasport and Recreation PEI Kyla Dunn – kyla@parasportpei.ca
New Brunswick Parasport New Brunswick Simon Richard – simon.richard@parasportnb.ca
Quebec Parasports Quebec Alexis Boulenger – aboulenger@parasportsquebec.com
Saskatchewan Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association Jen Wood – jen@swsa.ca